Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Seoul 2k15

Hi hi I'm back again! This time I'll be blogging about my recent Seoul trip in March! I went with a distant cousin and my mom. I don't have much pictures with my mom because her main purpose visiting Seoul was to work & she allowed me to tag along but on the condition that I had someone to accompany me. I didn't mind so my relative, Eunice, joined me!

I actually wanted to visit entertaintment companies/sm coex artium but since I was in charge of bringing my relative around, I couldn't :( plus she's more into shopping and food so... yup.


Hehe we left for the airport @ 7am and we took off at about 9.30am!! It was a long flight but I couldn't sleep well :( instead I watched movies and ate hehe. I don't like being on the plane for so long because I get nauseous easily :(


When we reached Incheon, it was raining...however my mom's colleague arranged the hotel bus to come pick us up to go to the hotel, so it wasn't that bad :)


Sorry haha this is a blur picture of the hotel lobby. We stayed at The Grand Hyatt which is located at namsan! (Yes which means it's atop a hill lol fml)



The beautiful room! It was quite huge but we had to put an extra bed because of my relative who was with us.

Outfit that day!! I regretted not bringing a scarf along with me that night because it was sooo cold. I underestimated Seoul's weather this time because it was already spring and I thought it wouldn't be as cold.


Headed to hongdae for dinner!! Ahhh I miss the streets of Seoul already...






Before our actual dinner, Eunice decided to buy some street food to try since it was her first time in Korea! It was my first time trying the pickled radish because previous times when I was in Korea, it looked weirdly like a lemon to me and I didn't dare to try orz lol.

The kimbap and the fried assorted food was sooo good tho!! We also had odeng but I didn't take a picture of it because I ate it immediately lol too hungry.






After the street food we headed to a nearby shabu shabu restaurant!! It was a buffet style restaurant & I think we took too much food....the food was super super good though omg.


We walked around hongdae a little after dinner but my mom and Eunice were feeling super cold and a bit sick due to the climate so we went back to the hotel :(( I was feeling fine though!! ehem I'm *strong*


The story behind this photo is quite stupid....we were told that the shuttle bus to Myeongdong came every 1 hour 20 minutes and we rushed like mad to catch it only to be told that it comes every 1 hour 10 minutes. IMAGINE OUR SHOCK!! We had to waste 1 hour waiting for the bus so we just sat there and watched some videos....

I know some of you may be asking why didn't we take the subway, we would if we didn't have to walk down the fucking hill & then another 20 minutes after that. we're lazy hahahaha.




We were super hungry when we got to Myeongdong so we decided to have a quick lunch before shopping!! Oh and our rule during the trip was that we just order two mains and then share with one another so that we won't waste much food :))

We found this food plaza and decided on this restaurant called school food! It sells modern Korean cuisine so we found it interesting & gave it a try.




We ordered assorted kimbap and some noodles with like bbq-ed pork or smth. It was super good!! I liked the kimbap but it didn't beat the one I had the night before at the street food stall. The noodle was good though, I ate a lot of that :)



Walking in Myeongdong is one of my favourite things to do when in Korea!! But only when its in the day time when it's not crowded lol. At night it's 10x worse.


 Eunice here bought so much in like 15 minutes...we were at tony moly and then in 15-20 minutes she already spent half of her budget -___- I didn't spend much because I wanted to control + I already had lots of facial masks at home, might as well spend the money on food or other things!




After shopping at Myeongdong, we decided to go to Dongdaemun to shop for clothes!! They have many wholesale malls that open till 4am but most of the styles of the clothes are repetitive. We took a subway from Myeongdong to Dongdaemun and it was quite fast!





Yes.....we got hungry after shopping and ate again. Haha as usual we ordered two mains to share! I got an omurice while Eunice was craving for ramyeon. Idk why but they cook the ramyeon just right that it tastes so damn good....




Spotted this J cone ice cream while walking!! We bought one to share and it's sooo good omg. Haha don't say that I'm crazy for eating ice cream in 5 degree celcius weather, I've done it in -2 degree weather before ok!!!!!


We walked to doota which is a mall that sells clothes designed by local designers but most of the clothes there are really expensive :( so we just settled by eating carrot cake at the food court AAHAHA pmsl lol. & fresh orange juice!!

We actually sat there for like 45 minutes waiting for my mom to reply me but no reply...and my phone batt was running out so we decided to cab back and wait for my mom to go to dinner together.


 Back at the hotel, I unloaded my buys of the day to another bag and I started using this lip tint that I was looking around in sg for ages!! Turns out it's only available in sg so I had to get it. I'm a sucker for lip tints haha.


Omg at the amount of stuff Eunice bought in a day....enough to fit a small luggage.


Some selfies even though I wasn't feeling very well then ;;




My mom's friend (who's a Malaysian staying in Korea w/ her husband) brought us to eat korean bbq!! In Korea it's a must to have bbq ok! & we ate samgyupsal without any marinade, which was super good because you can really taste the flavors of the meat omg *salivating at 1am now*






We also ordered seaweed rice balls! They provide you with the ingredients and then you just mix it up yourself. Super nice as it complements the meat.


Otw back to the hotel my mom bought 6 bottles of honey water for me because my throat was in really bad shape. I drank lots of water but the dry weather worsened my condition..

Went to Ewha Womens University on day 3! Bought my fav egg bread!!


& my favourite hoddeok as well~




We went to eat first as usual and we came across this jjimdak restaurant!! I loved the chicken porridge lol it reminded me of home T__T & the chicken was not bad too.


I love the streets.




We felt super lethargic and tired that day hence we decided to buy some bread back to the hotel room to eat & at the same time, rest. We found a paris baguette outlet!! (lol not that hard cos it's everywhere)



Bought a cream cheese bun, steamed cheese cake & cranberry bread.


Headed to Myeongdong at night, this time it was way more crowded :(


Street food time!! I was eating japchae here.


Eunice tried some pumpkin porridge.



Came across the tastiest churros!! They're not normal churros cos they have custard inside which oozes out when you bite the churro! AMAZING.


Mom and Eunice bought a bbq squid skewer and shared. Hot food is always good in cold weather!


We headed for a restaurant at about 9pm and ordered jajjangmyeon, bibimbap & dwenjang jigae (black bean noodles, mixed rice & soybean paste stew). I honestly expected the jajjangmyeon to taste a little sweet but it was hella bland tbh. It looked so good but tasted so bad :( Hais k-dramas set my expectations too high.

The other dishes were good though!


Bought a box of strawberries for 5,000 won. Don't they look so pretty here? Well the strawberries at the top tasted good and looked good, but the bottom ones were rotten and spoilt. LOL cheated of our money fuck this shit. Why can't people have the decency to run a business ethically!! 

Oh another incident that happened was that we were trying to flag a cab back to our hotel, however there were only black premium taxis (black taxis cost more bc the drivers are model drivers who did not get into accidents over the past 10 years) & we just wanted a cheaper one which were the silver/orange ones. 

An orange cab came and we got in but to our horror, the taxi driver spoke to us in mandarin and said 20,000 won. WTF? It only costs us about 5-6,000 won to get back to our hotel bc it's only 5 minutes away!!!! LOL so we were just so shocked & we got out of the taxi. Few minutes later we found another regular cab and we went by the meter, which is the way to do business ok lol. 


Day 4 was spent in Namdaemun and Hongdae! Mom's friend met us at namdaemun for lunch and we were to head over to her apartment in the evening later. 


Look at the comparison between namdaemun in the morning and in the night! (in my previous korea post). It was bustling and there were so many people, but everything becomes a ghost town at night.



I bought some pumpkin chips which tasted so good!!! All the dried snacks here were all so crispy despite being left out in the open for so long....the weather is seriously good lol.




Ordered kimchi jjigae for lunch!! Spicy but damn good.




Ramyeon, Tteok guk (rice cake soup) & some stir fried pork.


We walked over to a department store and their supermarket downstairs seriously beats the ones in sg. So nicely decorated and the fruits are all so neatly arranged! But with such good quality, comes with a hefty price... the fruits cost 2x more lol.


We headed back to hotel to rest before heading out again and we sat by the windows! See that white space below? It's actually a skating rink which is pretty popular with couples in the winter!! Cool.


w


We ordered some food....again lol. I ordered yuja cha (citron tea), apple pie & mango bingsoo. The bingsoo was so horrible wtf and it costed 18,000 won lol wtf rip-off!!!!!




After we went to mom's friend's house to put our luggage down, we walked to a nearby kbbq restaurant!!! It was super super good and I tried naengmyeon for the first time there!


Day 5 was going to be spent at a strawberry farm & hongdae!! Hehe I finally had my milo after almost a week, good thing they had it at their apartment~





Mom's friend called for delivery and we ate in! Food was surprisingly good because I wasn't expecting much for delivery food.....hehe we ate jjimdak, some spicy chicken stew, pajeon (scallion pancakes) & the rice balls!


Taking advantage of the good lighting.....her house is facing hangang!! Which is so cool because many idols stay along hangang too (exo, jjp (in the past) etc.) and you know the coolest thing?! Z:EA's Kwanghee and Hyungsik stays at the 10th floor of her apartment block!! OMG I WAS LIKE SCREAMING WHEN I FOUND OUT.

She said that they always greet her in the lift when she bumps into them and that they always come home at around 11 in the night....lol. I was hoping I could bump into them in the lift or smth and I was even contemplating to go to the 10th floor to wait HAHA because each floor only has 3 units, which makes it quite small haha, but I'm a good & non-creepy fan,  I don't stalk even when the opportunity is right in front of me LOL.






We're all wearing our winter coats already because it's super cold even in the apartment corridor.



Drove all the way to ilsan (Gyeonggi-do) where the strawberry farm is located!




Picking the strawberries was a new and fun experience for me!! We just freely picked and then put it into our "basket" hahaha. & they were playing super good kpop songs too.











All the strawberries were super fresh and the lady told us they enrich the strawberries with vitamins to keep it fresh and strong and sweeeet.




The weather in gyeonggi is so much warmer compared to Seoul! But on that day, it was already getting warmer because it was already spring. Hehe I love spring!






Went to hongdae at night & it was super crowded & just super filled with youngsters omg CAN I GO WITH MY FRIENDS.






There were so many buskers that night! Many were rapping and singing but I saw two guys dancing to girls day & sistar AHAHAHA omg A+ for effort and passion really.









I got lots of clothes from hongdae!!! & most of them were 10-20,000 won, super worth it!






Had the original yoogane!! Hehe sg's one tastes similar but somehow in Korea it's just way more spicy, just the way I like it!! Hehe omg and the noodles are really good too. It's not ramyeon but some other noodle i forgot but just fucking nice la omg.




After the noodles were finished we added kimchi fried rice!!!! Omg craving rn.



Hehe somehow in Korea, I had good hair days throughout the whole trip...cos of the good weather omg god BLESS.


To end off this post, I finally found the honey butter chips everyone was raving about!! It's really hard to find even in Korea & this was given to me by a shop owner...how nice of her thank you ^^;; Anyway she told us that the supermarkets only stock 20-30 packets of these each day so if you want to get this you will have to get it by 11am if not you won't stand a chance, which is true bc we went to so many supermarkets but none sold this :( 

It tasted so good I think it's the highlight of my entire Seoul trip this time round. 

Till then!! 

No comments:

Post a Comment